Double Din in a C5 - Z06Vette.com - Corvette Z06 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 08:45 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 6
Double Din in a C5

I have a Pioneer AVH4300DVD Double din that I pulled out of my F250, that I would like to install in my C5Z. I see there is a company that sells the dash kit, but I was wondering if I could just modify my own dash bezel to install my 4300DVD.

If anyone has instructions, advice, etc it would be greatly appreciated!
JeremyJames is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 04:40 PM
Z06 Member
 
montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 73
Re: Double Din in a C5

I have spent a little time looking into this subject myself, I never found anything about do it yourself projects. I decided to just bite the bullit and get a new bezel....sorry i wish I had the answer you were looking for....
montana is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 6
Re: Double Din in a C5

Where did you find the bezel and how much was it?
JeremyJames is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-12-2012, 07:53 PM
Z06 Member
 
montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 73
Re: Double Din in a C5

They are not a supporting vender on this sight. Just google c5 doubledin.
montana is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-14-2012, 05:47 PM
Premium Member (Lifetime)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 2,610
Re: Double Din in a C5

They did my c5z bezel and did great work. Dennis was the owner cool corvette guy.
seamus2154 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-14-2012, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 6
Re: Double Din in a C5

I can see the work is great. I hate to be a cheap skate on this, but before I spend $250 on modifying my bezel, I am trying to see if there are any DIY ways haha.
JeremyJames is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-16-2012, 05:51 PM
Z06 Master
 
RocketSled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 3,212
Re: Double Din in a C5

There are definitely posts in this forum about modifying the console for 2-Din. I have a spare bezel sitting in my garage, specifically because I intended to do this exact thing, myself.


Now, Vortech powered!
_________Click for details_________

Download a Z06VETTE screensaver
Black, QS, Torch, Blue, Mil. Yellow,
C6!
RocketSled is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-17-2012, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 6
Re: Double Din in a C5

RocketSled, can you forward me those links? I cannot find them. I am not too good with the search feature.
JeremyJames is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-17-2012, 05:08 PM
Z06 Master
 
RocketSled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 3,212
Re: Double Din in a C5

Damned if I can find even one. But I know I've seen at least one. I distinctly remember pictures of the exposed structure.

After you remove the bezel, you move the climate control down and mount the new head unit. But the existing mounting points work I think, you don't even need to drill anything.
Then on the console bezel, the piece of the bezel that crosses under the radio is cut out. Because the piece is fared in to the main portion of the bezel, you have to cut it including the curved transitions. You end up with a notch in the main bezel at each side where the cross piece was, and a cross piece with squared-off ends that include the smooth faring.

You cut a similar sized notch in the main bezel an inch or so further down, where the cross piece needs to be for a double DIN. You glue the cross piece in place at the new location. You glue the pieces you removed from that location back in to the notches left by the removal of the cross piece. Then you use some Bondo to fill it and smooth it all out.

You need to perform a similar operation for the climate control. In so doing, you lose about 1/2 of the height of the ashtray opening. You have to glass that opening to close it up. Or, you can use the ashtray door by cutting it down and anchoring it in place, and then filling with Bondo again. If I recall, the remaining space below the climate control is large enough for switches, a 12V outlet, or small gauges.

The stock bezel has a textured finish. Where you add filler or fiberglass and sand it down, the areas will be smooth. I think most of these modified bezels have a smooth finish because, while the texture can't be easily replicated in the new areas, it can be sanded off everywhere. So once you're done, sand the whole thing smooth and paint it.

Voila!

I bought a spare bezel to do this. So I'd have extra parts if I screwed it up the first time...


Now, Vortech powered!
_________Click for details_________

Download a Z06VETTE screensaver
Black, QS, Torch, Blue, Mil. Yellow,
C6!
RocketSled is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Z06Vette.com - Corvette Z06 Forum > C5 Z06 Specific Topics > C5 Z06 - Pit Road


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Win JerryL Factory Racing 1 08-26-2008 09:55 AM
Callaway Double D Z06phile C5 Z06 - Pit Road 2 12-09-2006 06:24 PM
Double standard? (pic) wheelman The Garage (non Vette related) 10 04-17-2005 11:25 AM
HAL QA1 double adjustables ZO62001 C5 Z06 - Pit Road 3 03-24-2005 09:38 PM
Double clutching Anil Rao C5 Z06 - Pit Road 20 05-11-2002 05:30 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome