Corvette Z06 Forum banner

NOS as safe/reliable as a blower?

2K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  WA 2 FST 
#1 ·
Hey all. I have several years worth of experience with a supercharger, but no experience with NOS.

I want more power in the Z, but if I have to wait till I have a spare $8k laying around before I can get a Vortech, it's going to be a while.

I autocross, but as most of you know, more power in the Z isn't really going to help me out there, so I don't care that NOS is really only good for straight line stuff.

So right now in my situation, NOS is looking like a good solution for my go fast needs.

Questions:
Understanding that I must have a good tune, is NOS as safe/reliable as a blower?

Is it hard to use?

Any other NOS info would be appreciated.

#2 ·
First off, let's start by calling it Nitrous, or N2O, not NOS.

I'm considering using nitrous on my Corvette, but I'm still trying to get more information from people that have used it on their LS1/LS6's. I have no direct experiene with the giggle gas. You may want to check out some LS1 forums as I'm sure more F-body boys have experience with nitrous than Corvette owners. Not to say you still won't get some viable information here. Do a search, too.

#3 ·
Do a search on NO2 or Nitrous or search for Wa_2_FST . We have talked about it quite a bit. I use it and love it! As for the NOS thing ... they are a maker of Nitrous systems. I would recommend a TNT Wet Kit or a NX wet kit. Also there is a whole forum on corvetteforums.com

#4 ·
Good stuff Maynard. Just don't get too greedy and you won't end up paying the stupid tax.