Anyone tried the Garmin VIRB XE camera? - Z06Vette.com - Corvette Z06 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-2016, 06:10 AM Thread Starter
Z06 Addict

Garage
Anyone tried the Garmin VIRB XE camera?

Looking for any feedback on this camera unit, particularly details on how the camera obtains the car's performance data. I have an '03 C5Z and I'm a novice mechanic at best so I'm not fond of hard wiring stuff in or tearing apart stuff that I don't understand how it goes back together.

The concept of a camera that can overlay the performance data directly onto the video seems like a great idea, however with an older car I'm guessing it isn't going to be "plug and play" to get the data to the camera.

I already tried to look for a manual on Garmin's site, but they don't have one posted - just a dead end link.

Thanks,
Ryan

2003 Millennium Yellow Z06
(Yes, it actually is the one at the top of the screen...)
Proud Corvette Owner Since May 2010
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-15-2016, 11:47 AM
Z06 Tech Advisor

Re: Anyone tried the Garmin VIRB XE camera?

Shown on their website says :

Today we're excited to announce a new accessory bundle for our VIRB XE action cam,
the Auto Racing bundle.
Featuring an OBD-2 data relay dongle, drivers will now be able to access real-time auto diagnostic info, in addition to standard G-Metrix and overlay it into their videos.
With simple one-touch pairing, the compact OBD 2 sensor automatically syncs driving data such as speed, RPM, MAF rate, torque, throttle position, engine load, intake, coolant and fuel rate.
With this sensor, users can track and overlay G-Metrix data into their VIRB video to show how fast, how far and how intense the moment truly was.

That means you want the XE Auto Racing Bundle model and not just the XE version