Howdy from Arizona - Z06Vette.com - Corvette Z06 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-18-2018, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
AZVette

Howdy from Arizona

Howdy all,

Just thought Iíd stop in and say ďhelloĒ and introduce myself. My name is Joel and I just purchased my first Corvette, an Ď02 Z06 manual, silver with black interior. Iíve always loved Corevettes but they were always a bit out of reach for me (or other obligations in life precluded me from owning one). Anyhow, Iím thorougly excited to start enjoying this car. I already have a list of things to do before sheís on the road: change all fluids, brake job, alignment, etc. and of course the valve springs Iíve read so much about. Iím all ears if anyone has any other suggestions about what I need to do right away to make her a joy on the road. Iím here to learn, although I do consider myself a well seasoned ďcar guyĒ, I have zero experience with Chevy V8s, so this is new territory for me.

Well, time to go lurk through the forums for nuggets of wisdom on these awesome beasts! Have a great weekend!

Regards,
Joel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-19-2018, 06:01 PM
jub jub

Re: Howdy from Arizona

Welcome to the forum Joel! Congrats on your new Z06! It's a great car and should give you many miles of smiles! I wouldn't worry about the valve springs all that much. A lot of the problem with springs breaking comes from people abusing the engine before the oil temp comes to normal operating temp. So what you don't want to do is get on it until the oil temp is greater than 160. They're just like a muscle and need warming up before working it.

post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 05-19-2018, 06:28 PM
racingvette
Z06 Tech Advisor

As to valve springs, GM had gotten a bad batch of them and if your 2002 had them they would have broke a long time ago so
I would not worry about them right now