Throttle wire/serpentine belt problem - Z06Vette.com - Corvette Z06 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2001, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
JJC
Z06 Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 129
My 1300 miles new Z06 died in King City on the 3rd. I was pulling onto the freeway at moderate acceleration when all the chimes and lights and error codes on the dash started flashing. Speed was limited to 30mph. I took it to the dealer there and got a rental to get home. Now the dealer tells me it pulled a "throttle wire" into the serpentine belt tearing up both. The dealer's mechanic thought it might have been because of aggressive driving. Has anyone heard of this problem? Is there anything else that needs to be tied down in the engine bay? The dealer did assure me they will tie the wire down so it can't happen again. It was pretty shocking to suddenly be trying to get out of the way of a semi doing 65 and only be able to go 30. Has taken the edge off my trust of this car.

Jim
JJC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2001, 02:02 PM
fcalmes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hazelwood, MO USA
Posts: 0
Jim,

Sorry for your problem. [img]/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_frown.gif[/img] That's the FIRST time I have EVER heard of that. [img]/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_eek.gif[/img] Hopefully c4c6specialist or chick can provide a little insight.
fcalmes is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2001, 03:40 PM
c4c5specialist
Z06 Authority
 
c4c5specialist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: New Haven Ct.
Posts: 1,248
Sorry for the unexpected issue, however, I have NEVER heard of this issue.
I would request that the old wiring be saved, to inspect. They will not be able to give it to you, as they will have to retain it for 30 days, however, you can at least see the wires that got chopped.
Also, note the colors of the wires, ok??
Please let us know how you make out??
Chick, what do you think????
Best to all, c4c5

GM World Class Certified Service Technician. Chevrolet Professional Service Guild. Museum member #7993.
c4c5specialist is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2001, 06:30 PM
Chick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: near Boston
Posts: 12
It was misrouted from the factory (human error), fluke thing, it's that simple. Shit happens. I wish there was or I could give you an in depth technical reason (but they are asembled my humans). If your mechanic thinks it was aggressive driving, please find a new mechanic.

Chick is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2001, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
JJC
Z06 Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 129
Thanks for the feedback guys. Its good to know that its not a typical problem. I will look at the wires when I pick it up tomorrow or Tuesday. Its definitely not my mechanic who is working on it, just the dealer closest to where it died. The dealer doesn't have a belt in stock and so is waiting for one to come in via fedX. Then I have a 3 h drive to get it.
I can easily believe its just human error.
Thanks again,
Jim
JJC is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-05-2001, 08:05 PM
teamzr1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:

On 2001-07-05 22:08, JJC spewed forth this drivel:
Thanks for the feedback guys. Its good to know that its not a typical problem. I will look at the wires when I pick it up tomorrow or Tuesday. Its definitely not my mechanic who is working on it, just the dealer closest to where it died. The dealer doesn't have a belt in stock and so is waiting for one to come in via fedX. Then I have a 3 h drive to get it.
I can easily believe its just human error.
Thanks again,
Jim
I'd be real cautious of spliced wires.
It's one thing if the wire is supplying voltage, but if it's a signal/freq then over time the splice can cause resistance and you end up with weird errors.
I'd check this out and if need be demand the wire(s) be replaced end to end.

This is a true story, when my '94 ZR-1 was about 3 months old a dealer chopped the main wiring harness in half running along the outside of firewall then spliced every wire back.
Well sure as Sh&^t a few months later all kinds of weird goings on.
The guys at Team Corvette in Warren at the tech center brought the car to the tech center and when they saw what the dealer did had a Sh*&T fit to say the least.

Any splice with these electronics can cause values to change on the signal, low voltage, etc as the splice ages or the weather causes changes or from stress on the wire.

No way can it be your fault and I'd say tell them it's a new car and you want it properly fixed or make 3 trips to that dealer for weird problems and then go lemon law the car.
That's all you need down the road for the hack job to cause the drive by wire to F up while your in heavy traffic.

Hey it's a Corvette not a fricking rive burner, fix it right.. Dang that pisses me off, brings back old memories [img]/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_frown.gif[/img]
 
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-07-2001, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
JJC
Z06 Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 129
Picked the car up yesterday. Apparently the connector which is on the right side of the throttle body came loose and went into the fan belt or so the dealer service manager says. He says they fixed it without any splices. He was aware of that problem. It looks secure now. Maybe it just wasn't fully secured at the factory and nobody noticed. I'll probably add a couple of tiewraps to make sure it stays put.

Jim

2001 Black Z06, CAGS, [email protected] rocker rails and frame protectors, Zaino, black sheepskins, Penskes from Ankeny Racing, front T1 swaybar, Guldstrand endlinks, Halltech T-1, Valentine, Hurst shifter, Cascade Audio sound dampner, DRM combined oil cooler/radiator.
JJC is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-07-2001, 12:50 PM
fcalmes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hazelwood, MO USA
Posts: 0
Glad to hear you got your Z back, Jim. Hopefully all is well now!! [img]/phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Frank
fcalmes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Z06Vette.com - Corvette Z06 Forum > C5 Z06 Specific Topics > C5 Z06 - Pit Road


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpentine belt cost S-TEE C5 Z06 - Pit Road 6 07-02-2007 06:36 PM
'02 Z06 Serpentine Belt mattinnj C5 Z06 - Grandstand 8 11-08-2006 09:10 AM
Check and If Necessary, Change your Serpentine Belt dailydriver C5 Z06 - Pit Road 4 04-11-2004 07:24 PM
Serpentine Belt life? JJC C5 Z06 - Pit Road 2 04-16-2003 11:26 AM
Serpentine belt falling off... Hil C5 Z06 - Pit Road 13 10-03-2002 07:18 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome