Corvette Z06 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!!!

Any of you that have a 160 thermostat!!!! I was wondering what you coolant temp is, say 41 degrees outside, cruising around 75mph for an extended time!!

Any help!! Thanks!!

·
Registered
309 Posts
I have a 172 and at 60 degrees outside the car was running 167 degrees. I put the stock TSAT back in for the winter as well as a Vinci Fan Controller with the fans set around 205 degrees. Car runs normal temps at highway speeds (192) and 200-205 in traffic (I don't see much traffic though).

·
Registered
2,616 Posts
I've got a 160 tstat. In CA @ 55-70 air temp on freeways at 72-85 mph it runs about 172-185.

Depends if I've been accelerating or going up hill or just cruising on flat ground at 72 mph. In stop and go traffic with a lot of ideling it hits 205. Fans come on at 199.

On a hot day in stop and go traffic this past summer with a/c on, I've seen as much as 230. I'm running much more water since I changed the mix in the radiator recently, so I'll see what happen this summer. I'm having an on/off switch installed to manually control the fans from the cock pit.

Max power is at 180-185 head temp.

HTH,

:cheers:
Barrie

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys!!!

Reason for asking, I modified my thermostat myself using the 'ole BB trick!! Works perfect in the summer, but we just started getting some cool air down here, highs in the low 40's and lows in the hi 20's!!

Cruising at 70-75 in 6th, I've seen it as cool as 144!! So, I'd like to bring the temp up another 27-30 degrees, cruising!!

Hell, doing 80-85, the closer I kept the engine to 2000 rpm, the cooler the damn thing got!! I think that's where I saw 144!!!

Thanks!!!

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks jnation!!!!!!

I'm triing another little trick today, to see if I can at least get it up to 170!!!