Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Valvetrain aside, what do I need to do to safely spin to 7k RPM on a stock bottom end? Double roller timing chain or LS2 timing chain? What else? Thanks. :coo:

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
jub jub said:
Reliably? I would say a balanced and blueprinted forged rotating assy.
Ok, how about "somewhat reliably"? :lol:

Seriously, I don't want to dump a ton of cash into this motor - I'd rather save it towards a C5R 427. The heads/cam setup I'm looking at is designed to spin up to 7500 so hoping I can go 7k without problems.

·
21,351 Posts
dmtnt said:
Ok, how about "somewhat reliably"? :lol:

Seriously, I don't want to dump a ton of cash into this motor - I'd rather save it towards a C5R 427. The heads/cam setup I'm looking at is designed to spin up to 7500 so hoping I can go 7k without problems.
I'm not an expert but, from everything I've read you're biggest concern at 7000 rpm will be your valve train, valve float, P to V clearance, etc.. Keep it tight and you shouldn't have any problems. I wouldn't spin it faster than that.

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
jub jub said:
I'm not an expert but, from everything I've read you're biggest concern at 7000 rpm will be your valve train, valve float, P to V clearance, etc.. Keep it tight and you shouldn't have any problems. I wouldn't spin it faster than that.

Along with that remember Subdriver's post about his timing chain problems. That to me would be my biggest concern. :cheers:

·
Registered
5,491 Posts
You need to look no further than the specs for the new LS7. As a minimum on an LS6 I would replace the OEM main caps with KaTech Billet Main Caps and the rod bolts with KaTech or ARP rod bolts. And since the engine is apart I would Blueprint and Balance the engine.

I would also consider:
- A gun drilled and aero leading edge forged crank
- Katech, Oliver or Carillo Rods
- Forged Pistons from Ross, Weisco, JE etc.