Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone, this is my first post here at Z06 forums. I am not fortunate enough to own a Z06 yet, I am a student. I currently drive a 1997 nissan 240sx (its rear wheel drive for those who dont know.) I added a turbo kit to the stock engine and went from a 16.4 q/m to a 14.1 q/m. Not the fastest car in the world, but lots of fun. If I got traction and replaced my stock exhaust mid 13's should be possible. I have about 230-240whp :thumb:

Sadly I over boosted, and poped a piston(broken ring lands).
I plan to rebuild and my goal is 500 whp. Should be good for a low 11 sec q/m.

But here is why I am writing to this forum. I would like to get another 240sx pre 1995 (to avoid problems with OBDII emissions) and drop a z06 motor in it with a t-56 tranny and either twin turbo it or super charge it. (I saw a mean Impalla 95' with a twin turbo pumping 1100 whp :D ) There a 2 240sx's that I know of that have been swaped an ls1 was used in one of them the other I am not sure if it was an ls1 or an ls6. (I get a bit confused with the engine codes)

Are there any wireing kits for the z06 motor? I like all aluminum construction and I hear that the engine is bullet proof. Would the engine require a rebuild to acheive these hp levels?

I love sleepers :coo:
Thank you in advance for sharing your knowledge.

·
Registered
372 Posts
What's up man? I had too had a '97 240 before my Z. Had an SR20 swap with a T3/T4, with 445whp on pump gas. ANYWAY, as far as i know, there are no kits for an LS1/LS6 240 swap, it'll all have to be custom.

While these are reasonably strong motors, they can't seem to make anywhere near the specific output that a rediculously strong 2.0L turbo motor can, so, expect 550-600whp to be the limit for the stock bottom end (for those that don't know, the 2.0L SR20DET Nissan motor can make 550-600whp on a stock bottom end).