Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hoping to get some insight from you all regarding the best modification path.. I am in the process of planning my approach, and though I believe I will eventually go with a magnacharger, I am going to start with some NA stuff..

I spend most of my time in the 2k - 4k rev range, and therefore I want my mods to improve the mid-range area. I am considering an intake, H/C, headers and exhaust. I'm figuring the "breathing" components provide the greatest improvement in the high RPM range, but is there a cam which anyone has utilized which provides the greatest improvement in the mid-range area?

Also, am I correct about my assumption regarding the headers, exhaust, intake and heads providing greatest benefit up high?

I am just starting to learn about tuning a non-turbo charged vehicle, and any insight is greatly appreciated. Also, any suggestions about improving the mid-range pre-FI is absolutely appreciated. :cheers:

Ben

·
Registered
1,852 Posts
I dont know much about cams, but I know that a Roots-type blower will give you massive power between 2k-4k, the centrifical Typer Supercharger( ex. vortec,ATI) will take a power away up to 3000rmp -3500rmp and then increase all the way up. And turbo will give you both what both types of SCs I just mentioned. I hear headers ect with a good tune will give you all around the RPM range :thumb:

·
Z06 Power Adder Authority
3,265 Posts
You want a cam with minimum valve overlap for off-idle throttle response. However, the heads are so efficient on these cars and with a quality EFI tune, you can get fairly radical and still maintain great street manners/mid-range TQ.

Knowing that you are going to go with a Magnacharger down the road, cam selection is critical right now, unless you want to swap out the cam later on.