Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
have an 02 with 9800 miles on its my daily driver and I california car duster the car every day when i get to work before putting the cover on and everytime theres is like this black soot around the licence plate frame and the taillights and it concerns me and i just had oil changed and its a little off the full mark on the dipstick already?? any ideas ?? im new to vettes thanks

·
Premium Member
6,847 Posts
check your rear drivers side output shaft.. up close to the tranny

you should have some seepage..
it is a warrenty ... TSB item

·
Premium Member
4,018 Posts
Black soot would indicate rich AFR wouldn't it? Especially if it's around the pipes and lower rear area.
What mods, if any?
Is it more after a spirited trip/ blast into the office?
Or is it when you go easy then there is less mess to dust off?

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
It's most likely just soot from the car exhaust. It's not uncommom at all especially if you have some mods like a cold air intake. You may be running a bit rich during WOT. It probably happens more when you run the car through some higher revs.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Could easily be dust from the brake pads, too. If you drive at the track, you'll see this commonly. If you drive hard on the street, you can do the same thing. The stock brake pads create a lot of dust.

·
Registered
308 Posts
If it's not oily it is probably brake dust or just road dust.
The shape of the rear of the car tends to create a vacuum effect and the plastic in that area will attract dust like a magnet.
MHO :z:

·
Premium Member
652 Posts
Any of the above and also slight blow by on decel will spray small amounts of oil.
Check your exhaust tips.
If the soot on the car is dry it's fuel, if wet it's oil or diff. fluid.
If your exhaust tips are clean it's diff. fluid.

·
Registered
474 Posts