Corvette Z06 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this may be a really dumb question but the knowledge here on this board is amazing.

I am fixinta (one word, means about to, fixing to, haha) replace my stock injectors with SVO30lb. I have read the Service manual and many threads here but still have a few questions.

First, the fuel feed line has a metal clip holding it to the fuel rail. Is this clip re-usable? If so, how to I get it off to remove the fuel feed line? Can I just pry it up, gently, and pull the fuel feed line off?

Second, I do not have the fuel pressure guage with bleeder valve as pictured in the service manual. Is there a DIY way to bleed the pressure from the fuel system prior to injector replacement?

Sorry if these questions seem a bit odd but this injector thing is a little scary for me but I am a willing student.

Thanks in advance
Jim

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
Tools Needed:

10mm wrench and/or socket and ratchet
small flathead screwdriver.
Installation summary:

Remove the fuel rail covers (if you have them).

I hadn't driven it for about 24hrs, so I placed a rag over the end of the fuel rail pressure relief valve, and pressed the valve to depressurize the system. It had already depressurized naturally overnight. So no gas came out.

Take out the bolts that hold the fuel rail down. 4 of them.

Push the silver clips that hold the harness to the each injector inward, and pull the harness connections off each injector.

Disconnect the main electrical connector to each side of the fuel rail. I also unhooked the connections to the throttle body to make things a little easier.

Then once the fuel rail is loose grab one side broadly and pull up firmly to get the injectors out all at once from the manifold.

Repeat for the other side. (wiggling helps while pulling up).