Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
361 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

I have about 1/2 pad life left on my front XP9's from my last DE, and about 2/3 left on the rears-XP9's also.

I have some spider cracks on the front rotors, so I have ordered four new Raybestos to put on before my next DE.

Since I am new to DE's and doing my own brakes, I am not sure about something.

With new rotors, I assume I can put back on my front and rear pads and continue to use them until they are gone? since the pads have already been bedded, do I have to do something to season the new rotors with the old pads?

thanks!

·
Registered
891 Posts
I just put fresh Raybestos rotors on and used old Carbotech pads for a track time event. Worked just fine for me.

·
Registered
33 Posts
jnjboc,

How many events do you have on your Corbotech pads to get down to 1/2 thickness? I have 5 hard events on my Cobalt race spec pads and have under 1/2 of the pad left. I am considering Carbotech for my next set and was wondering how the wear compairs.

·
Registered
131 Posts
You'll still have to go through the process of laying down a new transfer film of the pad material to your new rotors, using the same procedure which you would bedding in the pads (getting heat into the system, transferring pad material and not coming to a complete stop and allowing uneven transfer to occur). Another thing that happens with the heat transfer into the rotors is that thermal stresses left from the manufacturing are relieved.

·
Registered
361 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
tigerdrvr. thanks very much for that excellent response. I will re-bed the pads onto the new rotors.

raddad43,