Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Both the driver and passenger were killed. This is just tragic news to car enthusiasts in general. This was a Ferrari Owners Club track event where many things went wrong to contribute to this tragedy. It goes to show you that when people are fortunate enough to have beautiful high performance machines that the margin for error is reduced and you need to always fault to the conservative and not drive beyond your skills.

From what I understand the Carrera GT was coming to the end of the high speed portion of this road course and didn't see a 360 Modena coming out of the pit exit lanes at a lower speed. He swerved to avoid the car and hit a concrete wall. The passenger was killed instantly and the driver later died of injuries sustained form the crash.

Personally, I have been driving on road courses for over 30 years and I have to say that this confirms why I have an aversion to CA Speedway and tracks with an abundance of concrete barriers.

Could this have been prevented? I am sure that it could have been. The track officials should be paying closer attention, the F-360 merging onto the track should have used better judgement when merging into high speed traffic and the CGT driver should have been paying very close attention to pit lane traffic and faulted to reduce speeds and leave himself more escape routes in a situation like this.

Let this be a lesson to us all... please be safe out there.

Brad

NBC Article:

http://www.nbc4.tv/news/4562562/detail.html#

LA Times article:

http://www.latimes.com/news/local/state/la-me-speedway3jun03,1,3734695.story?coll=la-news-state

Photos:

http://images.ibsys.com/2005/0602/4562735_480X360.jpg

http://nbc4.tv/slideshow/news/4562709/detail.html

Ferrari Chat Thread:

http://www.ferrarichat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=61677

·
Registered
602 Posts
This is so tragic.