Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If there are any head porting experts, can you comment on the machining of the combustion chambers in the LS7 head? I am no expert, but I have read and heard from engine builders that sharp edges and ridges in the combustion chamber are to be avoided because they will get much hotter than flat areas and could lead to detonation (pre-ignition). Maybe I should re-post this in a tech section.

If you enlarge the pic to its maximum resolution (it gets GIANT sized), you can see very sharp machining edges just above the spark plug boss.
To get the hi rez version, click the “download” link below the pic, then click the enlarge icon.
http://gm.wieck.com/forms/gm/previewpage?024297

I am guessing that this is the finished production version of the head.

·
Registered
412 Posts
WOW, that is beautiful; thanks for the link! :cheers:

I'm no expert either, but one would have to assume that since they're already CNC'ing the head, it must be considered good-to-go as-is. If sharp edges were considered a problem, it would have been just as easy to program a radius versus a sharp edge.

·
Administrator
21,250 Posts
lateapex said:
If there are any head porting experts, can you comment on the machining of the combustion chambers in the LS7 head? I am no expert, but I have read and heard from engine builders that sharp edges and ridges in the combustion chamber are to be avoided because they will get much hotter than flat areas and could lead to detonation (pre-ignition).
My engine builder here in KC agrees with you totally. They build engines for the Busch Racing circuit and they have always smoothed the sharp edges in the chamber to avoid 'hot spots'!

Mike

·
Registered
412 Posts
MikesZ06 said:
My engine builder here in KC agrees with you totally. They build engines for the Busch Racing circuit and they have always smoothed the sharp edges in the chamber to avoid 'hot spots'!