Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,640 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For Auto-Cross – do you select TC & AH OFF or Competitive Mode?

I was talking with someone (very good driver) who selects OFF because he says Competitive Mode slows the car? I’m fairly new to this – seems to me that if your AH takes control it’s better to have the computer assist than to drive by the SOTP.

After all – there isn’t any speed loss if the AH doesn’t kick-in – is there?

I’m looking for comments – thanks.

·
Registered
1,957 Posts
Most in the know here say comp mode as you have the best of both worlds...you get the rear wheels back from the AH mode but the fronts stay. There are a lot of stories here how AH/TC has saved both Car and Arse....Don't drive hard without Comp or AH on period...best of Luck

·
Registered
149 Posts
i drive with mine off and it works pretty good... if you're going for the fastest time leave it off, if you want extra insurance and don't mind a little interference along with increased brake wear leave it on.

·
Banned
809 Posts
I may be in the minority here, but I feel that comp mode is too intrusive. I think it's best to learn how to drive the car properly in the first place instead of learning to rely on drivers aids. Besides.. The drivers aids only help, they can't perform miracles.

Sal

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
If you are kind of new to Auto-Cross, then use the Comp Mode and later turn it all off. For Drag Racing ALWAYS use Comp Mode. :cheers:

·
Registered
131 Posts
I run with it off.
I'd be surprised if anyone could claim they go quicker in autocross with it on vs. off...I'm meaning in a real, back to back, controlled test situation, not "I seem to remember/believe/think I go faster with it on" ;)

Track events I can see why people like the peace of mind that the comp mode brings.

·
Registered
165 Posts