Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy,
After reading a number of threads on cooling fan on/off temperatures, I'm still not sure what the best temperatures would be to reprogram the cooling fans at...
Some people have the two fans staggered in 9 or 10 degree incerments (ex. Fan 1 on/off at 209/200, Fan 2 on/off at 219/210).
Other people have both fans come on at practically to same time (ex. Fan 1 194/185; Fan 2 196/186).
What would determine the ideal on/off settings? Any general rules, hints, or suggestions?
I have a 170 degree t-stat installed.
Thanks....... :thumb:

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
You will get different ideas on this as you have found out. I would suggest you set the low speed to come on about 190 & go off at 180, and have the high speed come on about 200 and off at 190. It really depends what range you want to try to keep the temp in. :coo:

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
Here's my 2 cents :z:

Fan 1
On 184
Off 175

Fan 2
On 194
Off 185

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the feedback.......:cheers:

Looks like two votes for the ~20 degree temp spread between fan 1 off and fan 2 on...or something like that... :crazy:

Any reason you can think of for not having both fans come on and off at aprox the same time?

·
Registered
5,484 Posts
Icewasp said:
Thanks for the feedback.......:cheers:

Looks like two votes for the ~20 degree temp spread between fan 1 off and fan 2 on...or something like that... :crazy:

Any reason you can think of for not having both fans come on and off at aprox the same time?
Sudden draw surge of both coming on at once is harder on the system.

Jack

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
FRC Tom said:
That is why I set them about 4 degrees apart. ;)
Preventing a sudden draw surge makes sense... :yeadog:

Tom, why do you have your fans set 4 degrees apart rather then the 9 or 10 degree difference that seems most 'popular'?