Corvette Z06 Forum banner

Do you lube your weather strips?

• Yup, I lube 'em regularly

Votes: 5 16.1%
  • Not yet, but I've thought about doing it

Votes: 16 51.6%
  • Not something I worry about, now where is that damn TV remote control!

Votes: 10 32.3%

• Total voters
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Do you lube your weather strips?

I was just thinking about how I should probably get off my rear-end this weekend and get the Z ready for storage.

One of the things on my list of things to do is to lube the weather strips. I've never done it before, but I see the results of not doing it on my old vette, rotted weatherstipping :( .

Just curious if anyone else does this? Does it really help them last any longer?

According to the owners manual we are supposed lube them at least twice a year with GM Dielectric Silicone Grease, part number 12345579, using a clean cloth. I've heard silicone spays with petroleum distillates are a big no-no.

·
Registered
5,414 Posts
Brian

Yeppers, what I said......better to not use it at all if it contains Petro distals......( made it short, and was misunderstood).;)

·
Registered
391 Posts
I have used the GM product and it was ok. But recently I tried a BMW product, gummi-phlege, and I thought it was better.

Went on easier and left a nice black sheen.

I also own a BMW and bought the gummi at the parts counter.

·
Registered
194 Posts
I remember hearing somewhere that Pledge furniture polish was good for maintaining the weather stripping.

Does anyone know if Pledge contains any petroleum distillates?

:-?

·
Registered
2,486 Posts