Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all:

Please read my other thread on Column Lock Bypass for information on my company and some background.

One of the most popular and best bang for the buck upgrades, IMHO, is a lighting upgrade to GM's Euro headlight assemblies. To do this, you usually need to cut into the factory wiring which increases the chance of failure and error and may void your electrical warranty. Not to mention it's not as easy to reverse as a plug and play solution. For those of you that like to drive fast at night, there is almost nothing more important (well, okay, brakes maybe) than good lighting. The Euro headlights have a superior beam pattern when compared to the US lamps. I run them on my car and the difference is (pun intended) night and day.

I wanted to let you know that we currently have a T84 (Euro) "plug and play" set of connectors that make installing GM's Euro headlight assemblies an easy five minute job. It requires no cutting and is easy to reverse. Comes in a pair (to do both sides of your car) for $xxxx plus shipping. Please note that you cannot safely increase the wattage of the H4 bulbs with these connectors as they are only a "conversion" connector and include no heavier wiring.

We are currently developing a low cost headlight harness which upgrades the entire system with heavy duty wiring, sealed automotive-grade relays, and all the connectors in order to run higher wattage bulbs. Once testing on my car is complete, I expect this harness to retail for around $99.99, again requiring absolutely no cutting.

Instructions for installation are located here:
http://www.c5forum.com/diy/eurolights.html

but these include wiring modifications which you wouldn't need to do with either of the above-mentioned kits.

------------------
Brian - Y5116
NCM Business Member
Yellow/Black '00 Coupe
12.9 @ 111 MPH
329RWHP/338 RWTQ

"Redshift" on http://www.c5forum.com
http://www.c5store.com/


[This message has been edited by N4C5S (edited 02-07-2001).]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
528 Posts
Keep us posted on the plug and play harness to run the increased wattage bulbs. I'd like to use the them, but did not like the idea of having to cut the factory harness.

------------------
My Web Site

01 Z06 - No time slips yet
92 RS ProStreet Camaro - Best E.T to date 10.15 @ 136 mph (all throttle no bottle)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay. I can post a quick picture (it's on the floor next to my desk) if you want, but basically it is a very heavy duty harness that connects to the factory 9005/6 plugs, has relays and heavy gauge wiring, and also connects to your battery directly as well as a local grounding point.

It is my understanding that even if you plan to use the factory 55W (low)/60W (high) bulbs, using this harnes and obtaining power directly from the battery increases their output noticeably over using just the factory connectors. If that's the case, I can only imagine what it will look like when my 90W/100W bulbs come in. WHOA!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
126 Posts
Brian,
Please put me on the list for this harness when it's ready. The euro lights are great and definitely a nice addition to the Z06. Without PIAA fog lamps to back up the headlamps we need the extra punch!


------------------
Pete Hill
MilYel/Black Z06


[This message has been edited by Z06fever (edited 01-20-2001).]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Pete - from what I hear, the fogs become obsolete and useless with the Euro upgrade (even PIAAs). How's that for a good mod?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,991 Posts
I am running 100 watt low beams and 130 watt high beams and PIAA 1100X's and the combo is very good, I am also using an aftermarket harness so all 4 headlights are on when the high beams are used, but I am interested in your HD harness when aval.
I can get real high wattage H4 bulbs.


------------------
Carl V. *****Authorized Zaino Distributor*****
Huntingdon Valley, PA.** 2000 Magnetic Red Convertible **
MN6,F45,QF5,AQ9,AG2,CJ2,T96,B34,AAB,UN0,U1S,JL4,UV6,T82,N37
** Corvette Club of Delaware Valley **

www.hcvind.com
E-Mail: [email protected]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
126 Posts
Several months ago someone mentioned that the E-spec headlamps bounced on rough roads and at higher speeds. Their answer was to upgrade to the entire Euro headlamp unit (glass, bracket, motors), not just the glass assembly. The story said that it was more critical on 00-01 than 97-99 C5's.

Has anyone heard anymore on this or those of you with the mod having any problems?


------------------
Pete Hill
MilYel/Black Z06
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
My car is a '00, and I can tell that they bounce ever so slightly on bumpy roads. But the aiming is very important, and if done properly this seems to be a minor issue. I believe the factory lights did the same, but it was impossible to tell because they did not have a sharp cutoff line like these do.
 
Joined
·
311 Posts
Brian,

After installing the Export T-84s, I noticed that they do shake a little bit when hitting bumps, but with the H.I.D. lighting system installed it really doesn't matter as there is light everywhere you look on the road.

I was going to do the conversion you did, but I wanted to go the extra step and that way being the only H.I.D. powered C5 with Export T-84s at this time in the U.S.

Shawn



------------------
Specializing in Performance Products for C4/C5 Vettes, 94-96 Impala SS and GM Truck/SUV's.

You can view our entire product listing by clicking: HERE
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Yes, I do see a little vibration. If aimed correctly, it won't affect other drivers at all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
UPDATE


I installed the headlight harness that we had designed and it works great! There were a few small details that needed to be changed, and hopefully within the next few days it'll be a "go" - watch the Corvette Store for details and pricing.

[This message has been edited by Redshift (edited 02-09-2001).]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
250 Posts
I noticed an interesting post in another forum the other day, that, since each lamp is fused 10 amps, a simple electrical calc means that the wiring is good for 120 watt bulbs without needing to rewire (10a x 12v = 120w). The logic is that if the fuse is 10a, the wiring must be good for at least this much draw.

Any thoughts on this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
EHS, you know me pretty well by now. I consider an extra hundred bucks for a very heavy duty set of wiring and relays a very good investment. A simple calculation may indicate 120W is safe with factory wiring, but when I'm driving fast at night, the absolute least favorite failure of mine would probably have to be the headlights /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Carl, the harness has been done for weeks, but I'm having issues getting the actual assemblies from GM. I should have them in shortly. /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_frown.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
250 Posts

On 2001-04-23 10:34, Redshift spewed forth this drivel:
EHS, you know me pretty well by now. I consider an extra hundred bucks for a very heavy duty set of wiring and relays a very good investment. A simple calculation may indicate 120W is safe with factory wiring, but when I'm driving fast at night, the absolute least favorite failure of mine would probably have to be the headlights /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif
I agree with you Brian.

That's why I asked the question. I wuuzzz confused when I read it and couldn't believe no one had thought of this before.

And..., I've researched it with some electrical engineers since I asked the question, and as I suspected, it's not simply v x a = w.

Car systems are a little more complicated than the ol' house, and that's why you can't use the calculation. Instead, the best route still seems to be to head to www.smartsforyourbar.com (Ooops! Can I say that here?). /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_lol.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,521 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
You can say that here! See above - I'm a supporting vendor. Heehee. /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,143 Posts
hcvone said:
I am running 100 watt low beams and 130 watt high beams and PIAA 1100X's and the combo is very good, I am also using an aftermarket harness so all 4 headlights are on when the high beams are used, but I am interested in your HD harness when aval.
I can get real high wattage H4 bulbs.


------------------
Carl V. *****Authorized Zaino Distributor*****
Huntingdon Valley, PA.** 2000 Magnetic Red Convertible **
MN6,F45,QF5,AQ9,AG2,CJ2,T96,B34,AAB,UN0,U1S,JL4,UV6,T82,N37
** Corvette Club of Delaware Valley **

www.hcvind.com
E-Mail: [email protected]
Where did you get the aftermaket harness and can the car's wires handle the wattage? I wonder if the upgraded wires discussed in this thread for euro light usage w/upgraded bulbs could handle the extra wattage.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,212 Posts
Dude, you're replying to a thread that was last updated in 2003. The HD wiring harness with Relays was long-since made available. Yes, if you upgrade to higher wattage lamp bulbs, you need the aftermarket harness. IF you want the lenses but plan to stick with US DOT wattage bulbs, you do not need the harness.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top