Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know if the Halltech Sidewinder is actually adding 24 rwhp to the Z06? I dont know if I want to do the tric/mag or just the sidewinder. Im a very inexperienced mechanic and dont know if I should be cutting a hole in the shroud. Do you have any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
SL, the shroud cutting is very simple, all the systems that requiring cutting of the shroud give you a templet that makes it easy.

·
Registered
3,213 Posts
Adding 24 rwhp to a Z06 with any aftermarket airbox is very hard to do./phpBB/images/smiles/icon_wink.gif I see jim is planning on testing his sidewinder, tric and a vortex on his new Z06 very shortly.

The shroud cuts like butter really. I used a utility knife when putting on my Vortex. I have seen folks use a 'border' on the tric though, a piece of foam or stripping in black, that surrounds the hole. Looks good that way.

RG

http://www.exit28motorsports.com

1 877 966 8676

·
Registered
9,411 Posts
Indeed, the only hard part is actually cutting the plastic. Suggest you use a dremel rather than cutting though....MUCH easier....and it comes out cleaner.

Also, ask Jim if he knows where to get that edge stripping to make the cut look more professinal....I need to do this but got lazy....

JC

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
Has anyone seen any reports on the difference in rwhp between a cold air box as opposed to the larger filter without the box? Since the grille is open, I am wondering how much you gain by cutting the hole and putting the filter in the box. Experienced feedback is appreciated.

·
Registered
362 Posts
N4C5S said:
Indeed, the only hard part is actually cutting the plastic. Suggest you use a dremel rather than cutting though....MUCH easier....and it comes out cleaner.

Also, ask Jim if he knows where to get that edge stripping to make the cut look more professinal....I need to do this but got lazy....

JC