Corvette Z06 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, here's the problem. I go to start the car and it will keep turning over and over and over without starting. Sometimes it will fire right up, but mostly I have to stop cranking and try again and it will usually start on the 2nd or 3rd attempt. The funny thing is I tried to get it on my camcorder last week and every time I would bring the camera down and record my starts, it would fire right up. I left the house to run some errands and when I attempted to start up again, it starting acting up again. I'm afraid it will do the same thing when I bring it in. Any ideas? THANKS!

Ted

·
Registered
4,151 Posts
Ted, first off I'm not a mechanic.

Did this just start happening, or has it been going on for a long time - meaning did you get some bad gas which has messed up the system? If you think that's the case, the next time it starts up, burn off the tank of gas, put new gas from another station. You might want to put in a bottle of Techron or equivalent to clean the fuel system.

When it does run, does it run right? If so, I guess it's in the ignition system somewhere. In the old days I would have checked the wire off the coil to the distributor. What is the equivalent of that wire issue with the new cars?

Is the battery strong?

I'm still thinking...

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey Frank. I'll check for codes and post what I find tomorrow. I'm at work right now and I'll be getting off soon. Right around 9am. :( I really don;t want to go into the delership because I've had bad things happen to my cars at just about all of the big Chevy dealers here in Nashville. I'm still waiting to find a good service department.
That's how I feel whenever I take my car in.

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·