Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just completed my first DE, what a blast. All signed up for more in June and July.

I was at Watkins Glen. Temp in the very low 60's with a good wind so the track never got warm. The oil, on the other hand, got good and toasty at 270+. My water temps never made it past 210. Oil is Redline 10w30, water is 25% antifreeze, 2 bottles Water Wetter and distilled water.

I'm still learning and not likely driving real hard compared to you experienced guys, but I think in July I will be seeing oil temps approaching 300 deg.

What is the most cost effective way to bring the oil temps back in line? I don't care about meeting T1 or any sanctioning bodies requirements, so any mechanically sound solution is on the table. Are the integrated radiator/oil coolers viable?

I also noticed GM put a tiny oil cooler behind the AC and radiator on the passenger side (trans oil, I think) - can a shroud and fan be added here?

·
Registered
236 Posts
There are several nice integrated Oil/Radiator coolers available, but they aren't cheap. DRM makes a nice oversized Aluminium radiator with an integrated Oil cooler that I like personally.

There are also many much cheaper seperate oil coolers available. I think GM may even sell a generic one that will work.

BTW: That little cooler you mentioned behind the AC on the radiator is actually a brake fluid cooler, not an oil cooler.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Nocturne said:
There are several nice integrated Oil/Radiator coolers available, but they aren't cheap. DRM makes a nice oversized Aluminium radiator with an integrated Oil cooler that I like personally.

There are also many much cheaper seperate oil coolers available. I think GM may even sell a generic one that will work.

BTW: That little cooler you mentioned behind the AC on the radiator is actually a brake fluid cooler, not an oil cooler.

Good Luck!