Corvette Z06 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I participated in a BMW DE at Summit Point last weekend that also featured a club race. I was placed in an advanced run group, including some race cars. Since I was new to the club I needed to get signed off by two separate instructors. My instructors were very encouraging and told me that I was a good driver. Both instructors were impressed with the braking power (I was running Carbotech XP9s in front and XP8s in the rear). After completing the first two sessions, I was signed off to go solo.

It was a hot day, but the car felt good. I was driving smoothly and I had a good rhythm going. The only problem was that every time I looked in my mirror, I had all of these BMW on my tail itching to pass me. I was much faster than them on the straights, but I could not keep ahead in the turns. I gave up and found myself giving the pass signal more times that I would like! :eek::

These guys were excellent drivers and I actually found myself feeling intimidated by being on the same track with them. The lesson I learned is that having a fast car is only one part of being fast. A slower car with a better driver can still win. I need to continue to work on my skills, especially getting on the gas harder and earlier when exiting a corner. I believe that this is where these drivers were so much faster than me.

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
Still in all sounds like you had a BLAST :thumb: :thumb:

·
Premium Member
20,626 Posts
Don't be discouraged Bob. It will only be a matter of time. :thumb:

·
Registered
4,851 Posts
Bob said: