Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I'm new to Z06, I was hoping to see what all of you have to say about this setup.

It is an 03 with 11,500 miles. The place claims that a dealer installed a Vortech supercharger when the car was new upon the owner's request. They claim that dealer fully warranties the car (bumper to bumper) including the supercharger. Weird thing is, the intake and exahust is still stock although they did change injectors, thermostat, and of course the full kit with the superchip? No boost gauge but they claim around 6 -7 psi.

Anyway, what do you think about this? Is this a good thing, bad thing, ???
If the warranty is valid, that would be very nice to have the additional goodies and power fully warrantied by the factory. There's one year left on the warranty.

Any input or suggestions welcome. Ohhh, and they are asking $42K for it which I think it is little too much.. How much would a Vortech supercharger kit (everything out the door) cost?

One more question: Can the side moldings be taken off by anyone or is that more permenent thing that body shop would have to do?

Thanks!

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
BSM's can be removed by yourself and you will never know they were there. I took mine off after two years. Fishing line and blow dryer. There are dozen of threads giving more details.

As to the price. The blower with the install and tune is about 8G's new if it's the polished version. You usually lose about 50% or more on used parts. So lets figure 4G's for the blower. The car worth 35 to 36G's no blower. So my best guess is 39 to 40G's for the car. If the selling Dealer is local to you and is willing to put the warranty in writing you good to go in that area.
Let us know how you make out. :cheers:

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)