Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK. Its raining in Houston last night so I get the bright idea to SPRAY PAINT a piece of wood in my garage for a home project. I sprayed the paint (white) AWAY from my black Z (also in the garage) but I go out just now to find a fine layer of white paint has settled over the ENTIRE CAR. I didn't even think about this since I sprayed away from the car.

Since it has been 24 hours, I am assuming that the paint that has settled cannot get any harder/harder to get off. What do I do to get this off? I rubbed a small spot with a wet sponge and it seems to come off with some work but I dont want to risk scratching the car until I get some opinions.

Please - someone help. I'm sick about this. The car was spotless before this. What do I do?

The paint was Rust-oleum Gloss Protective Enamel.

·
Registered
9,957 Posts
I'm far from an expert but I would wash the car for a long time...soap and water... let dry and then I would consider using 3 M polishing compound..(fine) on the entire car...as instructed on the plastic bottle of 3M polishing compound..

Should take all of it off without a problem...

Thats what I would do...

Good luck and I really believe it will work out just fine...

After ward wash and wax the car as you would normally..

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
Wash the car if the car has some wax on it, it will come off.

If that doesen't work use your favorite wax or polish that has cleaner in it lke NXT and many others.

If that doesen't work buy a clay bar and that will take off the white paint. :cheers:

·
Registered
8,152 Posts
Not to worry...