Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I'll admit that I'm not a tire expert but... I picked up two nails in the passenger rear tire. One is a small finish nail the other looks like a brad (at least I know my nails).

Took it into Discount Tire and they said, "No way. We can't fix a tire where the nail goes in at a 90 degrees. It needs to be replaced". :jawdrop:

Cost: $700.00 out the door to replace both rear tires since they had about 18k miles on them.

Is this true? Has anyone run across this before? I thought it could easily be patched since the nail hole(s) were so small. :-?

Ps. Both nails are in the tread.

Pss. yes, I did a search on this first. :p

·
Premium Member
5,276 Posts
You got ripped. :(

Tyre manufacturers support and warrant appropriate and approved tyre repairs, even maintaining speed ratings for Z and ZR rated tyres for the first repair, as long as it is not in the sidewall or shoulder.

I will dig up the link, but have had this confirmed from Goofyear.

·
Premium Member
6,847 Posts
pricey.. but .. 18k.. you were probably due some tires..

·
Registered
311 Posts
Yeah you got ripped off. I had the same thing happen to me, but it was the dealer telling me that I would need a new rear tire. I took it to Belle Tire and they actually were able to just patch it....and didn't charge me a thing! I haven't had a problem since and of course because they did the right thing and didn't screw me (probably hoping I would come to them when I needed new tires) I will likely go to them when I need new ones. Sorry to hear about your situation. Only question I would have is if the tire was completely flat, or if you were driving on it and they found the nails in it while it was half-inflated. I ask because I never saw the nail in mine, but I heard the air leaking out, and they said it was a pretty large nail, but it still was fixed easily!!

·
Registered
1,436 Posts