Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last year I saw a guy with a supercharged Z06 at the track he ran a 11.3 and did not seem to be a very good driver he said he should be in the high 10's. I also saw a guy late last fall put down a 11.87 and he claimed he was stock except for an air box mode of some sort. Well then I was at Watkins Glenn this year for a driving event and there was 2 Z06 at the track. They were in the instructor class and man they were beautiful. They handled the track without any issues and turned some nice laps.

The owners told me that out of the box this was the best car they have ever owned for the track and both of them had or had owned 993's that cost them quite a bit to get track ready (brakes & Suspension)

I have been driving a Audi 2000 S4 for 2 years and it was heavily modified. The last modification was going to be for power and it would have pumped me up to about 430hp at the wheels. (please no flames I have 320 at the wheels now and have seen the kit I wanted to get put down 430 at the wheels)

The cost for that is almost 12K with the install and I had already invested 13K for brakes/suspension/exhaust and many other mods. This last mod would have got me into the high 11's and that is really the best you can ever do on this car and have it be a daily driver.

Then I started thinking about it and said "boy this car is only worth about 20K and I am going to dump 12K more into it and I am still not where I would like to be powerwise." That is when logic took over. When I got the S4 I needed a daily driver that I could haul clients around in and make a great sleeper. (12.7 inthe 1/4 is pretty good for a 4 door) Then I realized that I was at the top of the food chain modding this and it was not enough.