Corvette Z06 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Everyone,

I just purchased the Z06 this past weekend. Since taken delivery of the car, I have had numerous problems with shifting into second gear. It constantly jumps out of 2nd gear. It is very annoying. Am I doing something wrong? I have tried to just easily shift into 2nd so I don't force anything, but I still have the problem. I am not a novice to driving a manual tranny either. I previously owned a 98 Vert with the MN6. Does the stock shifter need to be replaced with a better aftermarket or does the car have problems already??

Also, yesterday (the second day of owning it) a message came across the DIC saying to "service active handling" and then "service car soon". After I shut the car down and left it sit for a few hours (watched a movie), the message did not reappear. I'm concerned that there is a problem. Has anyone experienced this scenario? Have I broken my new toy already??

If this is a repeat in the forum, I apologize. I did a search but did not see a similar thread.

Thanks,
Jason

·
Registered
4,332 Posts
Jason,

It sounds like your hitting the design feature of "Cags" you cant shift to secound under somthing rpm's. This is so gm can meet gas guzzler req's. Our vendors sell a cheap bypass kit or you can make one from a 1/2 ohm resister......

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
IMA Z06,

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, it is not that simple, or at least I don't think so. I am shifting outside the cags range, meaning when the shift 1-4 light is not on. When I shift it feels as though it is in 2nd gear, but then it pops out into neutral.

I had the cags bypass on my previous vette, but in my over-excitement I forgot to have it removed from the old vette to be installed on the new vette. I'll be purchasing a bypass very quickly though because cags is very annoying.

Jason

·
Registered
4,332 Posts
jd,