Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Read Only
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys i'm a newb here. i just got my 01 z06 friday and i'm going to replace the cats with straight pipes. i have full corsa exhaust. is this going to make me start throwing codes? are my 02's going to go bad? i'm thinking of doing this in the morning so any help would be appreciated. thanks for your help guys.

WOO HOO, i love my Z :jammin:

Michael

·
Registered
6,083 Posts
Yes they go bad and yes you will probably get codes on the rears. I believe you can install 02 simulators and edit out the codes. I'm sure others will chime in.

·
21,378 Posts
Removing your cats will cause you to throw codes. That's the job of the rear O2 sensors. You'll either have to edit the rear O2's out or use O2 simulators. Either way, you can get by until you have that done. You'll just have to put up with the aggravation of the SES light.

·
Registered
17,744 Posts

·
Registered
6,083 Posts
jub jub said:
Removing your cats will cause you to throw codes. That's the job of the rear O2 sensors. You'll either have to edit the rear O2's out or use O2 simulators. Either way, you can get by until you have that done. You'll just have to put up with the aggravation of the SES light.
I said to use 02 sims AND edit the codes...I should have said OR instead of AND as you did. :cheers: .

·
Read Only
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
wow, that was fast. thanks

simulators are around 50 bucks right? should any auto part store carry them? i rigged my last car (02 GTI) with spark plug arrestors so it would read at the right temp but i want to do the vette right. no ghetto mods. :D

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
insert_car said:
wow, that was fast. thanks

simulators are around 50 bucks right? should any auto part store carry them? i rigged my last car (02 GTI) with spark plug arrestors so it would read at the right temp but i want to do the vette right. no ghetto mods. :D