Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm starting to become a detailing freak with my car, but I'm rather new to the process and paticulars of having that perfect shining finish. I have an 02 black z and I have purchased some zaino products including the z5 which is the scratch and swirl removal polish. I purchased this because apparently me and the previous owner were a little to 'sloppy' washing the car and have put some fine scratches in the flat surfaces of the car. These scratches are not real deep, you need to look at them at the right angle to see them, but they are fairly numerous. With this in mind, how heavy of a coating of z5 do I need to use. I know the website says to use very moderately, but I'm curious what is moderate. Can any body give me a good guide line to follow as far as how much polish I should use per area on the car. For example, 2 dime size drops on the applicator pad per square foot of car surface. Or maybee, should the surface look a certain way whenever I have enough on. Maybee, there are even some other tricks that I could use to help cure this problem?
I'm a rookie at this, especially with the Zaino products, so I would really apreciate any guidance you can give me on this matter.

Thanks
Ted

·
Registered
9,957 Posts
The product Z5 doesn't really work better with more used...

The reason...IMHO you don't want to use to much is it won't dry as fast....and it will be tough to come off..

If you've got a lot of light scratches...

You should wash the car with dawn dishwasher detergent as it states in the instructions...

Then clay bar the car....Using Z6 as the lubricator with the clay if you like..
Then wash the car....then

You might consider a 3 m polishing compound(very good for our cars) prior on the car....then.... to Z1 or ZFX..then Z5....Z6....Z5....Z6...Z2 ..Z6..

Sounds like a lot of work ...but its really not...