Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Corvette world as I bought myself a brand new 2001 Z06 last week.I am confused about all this air induction stuff.I have noticed there are two kinds....cold air and non-cold air.What are the benefits of each one.I have a general idea but don't know which one I want for my Z06.First off I have noticed there are basically two parts of the system....a new air bridge(duct)and a new filter box.The ones that I have heard of are Donaldson Blackwing,Vortex,Haltech.In the cold air type what are the chances of sucking in water to the engine.I live in Miami where it rains a lot during the summer.Is there a big difference in gains between the cold air and non-cold air?Sorry for the long post but I want to understand this before I do this.Still confused...please help.Thanks a lot guys.

·
Registered
3,108 Posts
Welcome Gary!

I'm sure some of the guys will chime in on this subject... it is a hotly debated one /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif

I am waiting a bit on my'02 to decide which I want...

Good luck and enjoy your Z06! /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_cool.gif

·
Registered
150 Posts
You've gotta go with an Haltech product.If your concerned about water then go with the sidewinder. I was driving in Atlanta on Fri. in one of the worst thunderstorms I had ever seen and I have an Haltech Tric bottom breather with the new condom and it gave me no problem at all.I disconnected my MAF just to check it out and there was no moisture there at all. You can feel the power difference as soon as you drive it the first time. Good luck any way you go!!SHOE

97 Mustang Cobra Conv.--475 rwhp with alot of goodies

·
Registered
2,343 Posts
Everything that I have read over the last year on this subject has lead me to conclude that the filter replacement units have very marginal horsepower gains in and of themselves, if any at all.