Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
388 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I have tested my car twice through our local revenue collector/smog test and she has failed both times. I have the LG long tubes with race cats. The first time it failed 2 out of the 3 tests, the second time it passed all but the hydrocarbons. We are allowed .37, and I pulled 1.50 the first time, .60 the second. I got the car really hot, running it on the highway in 4th at 100-120 mph before getting tested. Any ideas??

·
Registered
259 Posts
I'm no expert here but how about putting the factory cats on for the test

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
OLDGUY said:
I'm no expert here but how about putting the factory cats on for the test
They won't fit :cheers:

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
Z06KahunaCanuck said:
Hey guys,

I have tested my car twice through our local revenue collector/smog test and she has failed both times. I have the LG long tubes with race cats. The first time it failed 2 out of the 3 tests, the second time it passed all but the hydrocarbons. We are allowed .37, and I pulled 1.50 the first time, .60 the second. I got the car really hot, running it on the highway in 4th at 100-120 mph before getting tested. Any ideas??
There is product on the market called Guaranteed to Pass Emissions Test Formula. I don't know if it's snake oil or not.
Do a search on Google. Pep Boys etc carries it. :cheers:

·
Registered
882 Posts
In some states where I have lived in the past with smog testing, old cars that cannot pass have a small dollar limit for repairs. If the car still does not pass, the owner still can drive it. I guess it is the PC thing to allow those that drive rust buckets to belch smoke instead of taking them off the street. Is this still true overall? :-?