Corvette Z06 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all...

sorry about all the questions I keep asking, its been 6 weeks having a Z06, and the forum is the only place I can turn to for questions, cause there isn't that many Z06's around here, and I don't know anyone that has a Z06 that I can compare notes with...(and I am new to V8 muscle, I used to be in the 4 banger import scene...but I wasn't a ricer!!)

so basically, my Z06 is stock. But the exhaust sounds pretty dam loud. Even my friends wonder if the previous owner did anything to it, cause its sounds sick. Is it normal that when I am crusing around.... when I let off the throttle, the exhaust almost makes this "bubbling, popping" sound... as if it almost had straight pipes. It sounds crazy.

I also noticed on the hwy the other day, if I am crusing in 6th gear at 60mph... and I floor it, the exhaust sounds really deep hollow and loud...it can even be annoying cause I just want to cruise and relax, but its very loud its music to my ears...but.... my wife will get a headache we go for a long trip....

However, after I was driving for a while, and i was on the hwy again, and in 6th gear, i floor it again, and the exhaust sounded a lot quieter, and smoother.... it wasn't loud anymore, and more enjoyable, especially for a long trip.

I also mangaged to download a Z06 sound clip of a stock exhaust just reving at idle, and it sounded a lot smoother than mine. My exhaust system looks pretty stock, but maybe the prev owner changed a mid pipe or something.

anyway, just my 2 cents..

·
Registered
17,744 Posts
Popping on decel is normal.
There are several possibilities.
1. The exhaust system is not stock
2. The cats have been removed
3. No cats and a nonstock system
:cheers:

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, i know for sure the muffler and tips look pretty stock.