Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I installed a 160 degree thermostat a while back. A fellow C5 owner told me that this does nothing unless I replace the fan switch too. Is this true?

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
Joe, that is correct to a point, the 160 stat (much too cold in my opinion) will help while moving, sitting in traffic or stopped the 160 stat will do nothing for your temps because the fans still turn on at 230 degrees (aprox) I have a 178 degree stat with the computer reprogammmed and on a 100 degree day my car will not go abouve 205 degrees no matter how long you sit still, this is because I have the fans being turned on sooner through the computer programming. I would install a 175-180 degree stat, at that point you can either get a Powerloader, Hypertech or your computer reprogrammed, or you can purchase a fan controller from a company like Vinci (they are in Florida) or one of the supporting vendors I am sure sells their product, with a fan controller you can turn the fans on at what temp you want (they are adjustable) I had one on my car until I did the computer reprogramming and it worked great for under $200.00. /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif

·
Registered
65 Posts