Corvette Z06 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been wanting to paint my calipers red for a while on my torch red car....but I just couldnt seem to find paint that would match. But after much looking on this site and another one...people seemed to have good luck with duplicolors caliper paint kit. So I went down to the local autoparts store and picked up the kit and got to work. The lifting was the usual pain and cleaning and taping off wasnt so bad....but when I started painting the caliper, thats when everything went down hill. The paint looked darker than normal and was much darker than my car. Not only that but it was all runny and uneven, which made me start doubting the whole thing. After the first coat it looked like crap and decided that it was less trouble to remove the paint off one caliper rather than do all of them and then change my mind. So I got some paint thinner and went after it. I realized that it was going to look horrible if I would have finished the whole car. Now I am convinced that the only way to match the paint correctly is to got to the dealer and get the right code, take off the calipers completely and spray them. This would definitely yield the best outcome IMO. If you guys have had better results with a different method, let me know cause this didnt work. :( :-?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Simple, remove the stock calipers and install brand new Z06 calipers. They're already torch red.

I did the same thing you did, I painted one caliper with a kit, but it looked pretty poor so I removed the paint. Instead, I ordered 4 new Z06 calipers for around $320, then sold my stock gray calipers for $180 on Ebay. Best $140 I ever spent! The Z06 calipers are powder coated, not painted, so they hold up much better.

·
Registered
367 Posts