Corvette Z06 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the corvette world. I really like the 03/04 Z06 and am looking to buy within the next 6 months. My concern is the comparison of the Z06 to the C5 of the same model year range, 03/04. I have a friend that wons a C5 and says that he drove both before his purchase. He says the Z06 rides alot rougher and has alot more "noise" compared to his C5 which rides like a Cadillac to be honest. He said the Z06 had noticably more power, but other than that, just didnt offer the extras as the C5. My question is, what does the Z06 NOT have thats so important? I know the removable top is one, which I can live without. I have a Jeep wrangler to drive when I want the wind in my hair. But is the ride and "amenities" of the Z06 that much worse than the C5?

·
Premium Member
12,352 Posts
The Z06 is the high performance Vette, it is a street legal race car, meant for the track (road race or drag strip). It is setup from the factory to perform well on the road course, and thus does not have all the frills of the Coupe or the Vert. It has a true sports suspension, which is rougher during day to day driving, but cannot be beaten if you ever want to track the car.

Its not for everyone, but if you are looking for the a Vette that has the best performance and can be used on the street or the track, then the Z is your car. If you are looking for a Vette that is more for daily driving, looks good, rides nice, then the Vert or the Coupe is the Vette for you.

Life is full of choices...

Mark

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I know, and this is a choice I'm having a hard time making. I currently drive an SVT Lightning, so I'm used to a rougher ride, but I dont want to go any rougher than my pick up truck if I can help it. I just want to know what I'll be missing by going with the Z06. I already understand what I'll be gaining.

·
Registered
2,667 Posts