Corvette Z06 Forum banner

2001 Z owners - would you do it again?

• I purchased a 2001 Z06 new and never had any problems.

Votes: 12 21.4%
  • I purchased a 2001 Z06 new and the oil burning problem was corrected under warranty

Votes: 3 5.4%
  • I purchased a 2001 Z06 used and the oil burning problem was corrected under warranty

Votes: 2 3.6%
  • It took GM too long to realize they had a warranty issue with the 2001 models

Votes: 6 10.7%
  • I wouldn’t hesitate to buy a first year model

Votes: 10 17.9%
  • I will never buy a first year model again

Votes: 31 55.4%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have seen a lot of discussion about "I'll never buy a first year model again" and I have had the previous posts by 2001 Z owners.

I have been buying cars since 1969 and have never purchased a first year model of anything; but I'm not going to let what happened to the 2001 Z's influence me that much.

I looked up previous introduction model Corvettes and found the following:

C2 Introduction:
An error was made in creating the roof panel mold in 1963, using the wrong side of the dimensions, such that all roof panels were too small. This left a gap seen in the door pillar above the door latch in all but a few 1963's to 1967. The ones where it is not found were cosmetically covered up with body filler.

C4 Introduction:
1983:
A total of 43 - 1983 model Corvettes were built, but there were so many quality problems with them it was decided to halt production until they could be corrected. By the time the problems were corrected, it was so late into the model year that the car was brought out as a 1984 model which was run for a year and a half. The 1983,s were never sold to the public and the only one that is known to still exist is in the National Corvette Museum in Bowling Green, KY.

1984: